I care Jamey Rodemeyer!


As I write this, I am devastated that another young teen is dead as a result of cyberbullying.  It was reported that Jamey Rodemeyer wrote on his blog on September 9, 2011, “I always say how bullied I am, but no one listens. What do I have to do so people will listen to me?” The day before he wrote,”No one in my school cares about preventing suicide, while you’re the ones calling me [gay slur] and tearing me down.”

Although I never knew Jamey Rodemeyer, I want him to know that I am listening and I care!

My First Year Seminar course: Pleased to Tweet You: Are You a Socially Responsible Digital Citizen is committed to helping the Jamey’s of our world!  We are collaborating with a high school in Birmingham, AL to answer what it means to be a citizen – nationally, globally and virtually.  Our multimedia iCitizen project will be student-centered including only student perspective on how students can change the culture in our homes, schools, neighborhoods, towns, states, countries and our world at large.

Tomorrow is our first Skype session with Beth Sander’s high school students (@MsSandersTHS) .  We will hold a moment of silence for Jamey and for all the students in the world who don’t feel safe and come to school feeling as if no one is listening.  To follow our iCitizen project use the #digcit and #fys11 hashtags.

Previous related posts: Dinosaurs or Tiaras: Facing Intolerance; High School Skype and Twitter Project; Update on Skype and Twitter High School Collaborative Project.

 

Share

3 comments

Leave a Reply

