Connected Educator Appreciation Day #CEduAD


5In preparation for #CyberMonday, I can’t think of a better way to celebrate than to count my lucky stars and thank my amazing PLN!

For me, my journey as a connected educator began in a third grade classroom.  One of my graduate students, Tracy Mercier invited me to participate in a technology event that her students had organized. It must have been sometime in 2009 when her third graders with netbooks knew more about being socially responsible online than I did. It was, in fact, the first time I was aware that I was being Googled and I held my breath as the third graders checked out my digital footprint. I thought to myself if these third graders are in my classroom one day, how will I be able to meet their needs as connected students?

And so my journey began with students — my own graduate student and her third graders. What a fantastic introduction to the world of connected learning.

Tomorrow, I hope you will share your story and recognize and thank the connected educators in your life using the #CEduAD hashtag!

In the spirit of giving, I also wonder what we can give back and pay forward to those connected educators who give so much of themselves freely and without hesitation to their students, colleagues, and the profession as a whole?

I’ll end with my one of my favorite teaching quotes from the Prince of Tides.  The main character, Tom is a high school English teacher and football coach and towards the end of the book, his sister accuses him of being a failure. She says, “You sold yourself short. You could’ve been more than a teacher and a coach.” To which Tom replies: “Listen to me. There’s no word in the English language I revere more than teacher. None. My heart sings when a kid refers to me as his teacher and it always has. I’ve honored myself and the entire family by becoming one.”

Every time, I read that passage I become ten feet tall, my heart starts pumping, my shoulders go back and I’m standing proud — I am a teacher and better yet, I’m a connected educator!

Please pay it forward tomorrow, reflect on your own journey, and let all the connected educators in your life know how much they mean to you, our students and profession! #CEduAD

 

 

Leave a Reply

